lookiuc.blogg.se

My recipes my cafe
My recipes my cafe









It was here that Dan and Bessie met, fell in love, and married, thus cementing a legacy that remains today. It was at that point that she and her children moved to Hudson, in 1916. The bar still operates but is now part of Svilar’s, and the front portion of the restaurant.Īfter arriving in America, Bessie ran a boarding house in Grand Island Nebraska, until her then husband, Joe Mastelica passed. In 1912, Dan purchased the bar at the current restaurant’s location, known then as the Miner’s Bar. The fated couple immigrated separately to the US, with Dan arriving in 1906 and Bessie in 1909. In 1895, Bessie Sevenovich was born in Yugoslavia, and Dan “Big Dan” Svilar was born there a year later in 1886. Svilar’s hasn’t been in Hudson thousands of years, but you might be surprised just how long. The one thing people have traveled the world to enjoy for thousands of years.

my recipes my cafe

And what a surprise.”īrushes with fame aside, what is it about this modest restaurant that would attract people of such note, as well as common folk from coast to coast? It’s simple, food, damned good food. Sorry to name drop again, but when asked about it, even the well known foodie Duncan Hines of cake mix fame, once said about Hudson Wyoming, and Svilar’s, “Ah yes. Kennedy, comedian Phyllis Diller, and cowboy actor Roy Rogers, to name a few, all graced the red booths and the tables of Svilars’.Ĭan you imagine sitting in the same booth where the man who first set foot on the moon ate a meal? …celebrities the likes of Neal Armstrong, the first man on the moon, as well as President John F. Halfway between Riverton and Lander, Svilar’s has given Hudson a reputation for good food, known nationwide since 1941, but the history of the family’s involvement in the location goes way back to 1912.Īs Danny Svilar, the 29-year-old grandson of the founding Svilars told me,… yes, I said 29-year-old grandson, but more on that in a moment. High on the list has always been Svilar’s Steakhouse and Saloon, in the tiny town of Hudson, Wyoming.

my recipes my cafe

When I tell people that I write this column, they are always quick to give me advice about places I “must” visit. My fork is my compass and today it led me to a place I’ve heard about for some time now. I love traveling far and wide to bring you tales of culinary delights, and by far and wide, I mean as wide as Wyoming, and as far as my fork will take me. When you combine those two things, it attracts people like a moth to a flame or in this case, a steak to a flame grill. If there are two things Wyomingites appreciate most, they are tradition, and beef. ***For All Things Wyoming, Sign-Up For Our Daily Newsletter***











My recipes my cafe